Chapter One

A Harsh Initiation

Cinderella Island’s rich history stained in slavery generated a uniqueness in its culture, framed by the inhabitant’s perception of a fusion of ethnicities that lived together in a melting pot of which Rebekah Masters was a product.

The pulse of the Island moved in waves of small pockets of communities, better known as villages randomly dotting its landscape. Pearl Town and Saint Myrtle were two larger villages, and both were crucial points of their commerce. Within this backdrop, Rebekah’s journey began through Alexander and Winifred Wellington’s love for each other. But as fate had planned, an untimely death shifted the axis of Rebekah’s life off balance, and her mother’s severe psychosis added to her misfortune. However, by the grace of God, Rebekah survived but not after going through her fair share of trauma.

“No, no, no?!”

Winifred Wellington’s screams shattered the silence of the night as the phone’s receiver fell from her hand, hitting the wooden floor. The dial tone, which was usually insignificant on its own, echoed against her gut-wrenching screams in the shallow silence of the night. The chilling sound sent shivers through Rebekah. She rushed to her mother’s side, throwing herself against her in panic, trembling. “Mama, what’s happening?!” Her eyes widened with fright as they adjusted to the dim light in the room.

Winifred Wellington was in complete meltdown, blind to the presence of her child. She continued screaming, “Alex, oh, Alex, you cannot be gone?! How could you leave me? Oh, my God, why have you taken my husband? Why?!”

A short silence enveloped the room. Then, once again, Winifred screamed, “Alex…?!”

Her speech became inaudible as her screams were uncontrollable. Rebekah realized something was very wrong at that moment. Something terrible had happened to her father, and it was obvious from her mother’s screams, he was not coming home. The realization started to seep in. She braced her tiny frame against her mother, holding onto her tightly; as she, too, wailed in disbelief.

“Mama, what happened to my papa? Mama, where is my papa? Why is papa not coming home? I want my papa!”

This first part series of ‘The Coming of Grace’ is available in paperback, ebooks, and Kindle on Amazon. Featured here are excerpts from the book. Each day, there will be a continuation from where each passage ended until November 30th, 2021. The second book completion to its series is slated for publication at the beginning of 2022. Your comments or questions are welcome.M. Delores

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: